| Share

Which Vehicles Are Tested

Popular Vehicles Exempt from Federal Fuel Economy Standards Prior to 2011
Manufacturer Model
Chevrolet Avalanche 2500 Series ¾ Ton
Silverado 2500/3500 Series
Dodge RAM 2500/3500 Series
Ford F-250/350 Series
GMC Sierra 2500/3500 Series

Note: These vehicles are given as examples. This is not a comprehensive list.

* No longer exempt as of 2011

§ No longer made

Manufacturers do not test every new vehicle offered for sale. They are only required to test one representative vehicle—typically a preproduction prototype—for each combination of loaded vehicle weight class, transmission class, and basic engine.

Some vehicles are exempt from these requirements:

  • Motorcycles
  • Large vehicles prior to 2011: Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR)1 over 8,500 pounds, such as larger pickup trucks and SUVs
  • Large vehicles from 2011 onward:
    • Pickup trucks and cargo vans with GVWR over 8,500 pounds
    • Passenger vehicles, such as SUVs and passenger vans with GVWR of 10,000 or more

1GVWR is the weight of the vehicle, all fluids, and its maximum carrying capacity.