Skip to main content

Which Vehicles Are Tested

Manufacturers do not test every new vehicle offered for sale. They are only required to test one representative vehicle—typically a preproduction prototype—for each combination of loaded vehicle weight class, transmission class, and basic engine.

Some vehicles are exempt from these requirements:

  • Motorcycles
  • Large vehicles prior to 2011: Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) over 8,500 pounds, such as larger pickup trucks and SUVs
  • Large vehicles from 2011 onward:
    • Pickup trucks and cargo vans with GVWR over 8,500 pounds
    • Passenger vehicles, such as SUVs and passenger vans with GVWR of 10,000 or more

Popular Vehicles Exempt from Federal Fuel Economy Standards Prior to 2011

Manufacturer Model
Chevrolet Avalanche 2500 Series ¾ Ton
Silverado 2500/3500 Series
Dodge RAM 2500/3500 Series
Ford F-250/350 Series
GMC Sierra 2500/3500 Series
Manufacturer Model
Chevrolet Suburban ¾ Ton*
Ford Excursion
GMC Yukon XL ¾ Ton*
Hummer H1 and H2
Manufacturer Model
Chevrolet Express 2500 Passenger*
Express 3500 Cargo
Ford E Series Passenger (w/ 6.8L Triton or 6.0L Diesel Engine)*
E Series Cargo (w/ 6.8L Triton or 6.0L Diesel Engine)
GMC Savanna 2500/3500 Passenger*
Savanna 3500 Cargo

Note: These vehicles are given as examples. This is not a comprehensive list.

This website is administered by Oak Ridge National Laboratory for the U.S. DOE and the U.S. EPA.